Navy Federal Stop Payment: Fee, Rules and the Routing Number Question
Verified against the current text of Navy Federal’s Important Disclosures (NFCU 606, 9-26), its Debit Card Disclosure (NFCU 210AB, 4-26), its Zelle® and Other Payment Services Terms (NFCU 452, 11-25), its Card on File Terms (NFCU 21), its Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit (NFCU 50, 9-23), the four 2025 checking fee sheets (NFCU 401A/401C/401D/401E, 6-25), the published Schedule of Fees and Charges, 12 CFR 1005.10 on the eCFR, and § 8.4-403 of the Code of Virginia, on October 25, 2026.
A stop payment does not act on a routing number. It acts on one item or one authorization — and Navy Federal charges $20.00 to stop a single item, $25.00 to stop a range or series. Navy Federal’s routing number stays 256074974 throughout; nothing about it is suspended, blocked or changed. What the fee buys is an instruction to refuse one identified thing: a check number, a debit from a named company, a recurring card payment. There is no product, and no form, that lets you put a stop on the nine digits themselves.
That distinction is not academic, because Navy Federal’s own paperwork treats the routing number inconsistently. Inside its 20-page Important Disclosures booklet, the phrase “routing number” appears exactly twice — both times in stop-payment instructions — while the booklet never prints a single routing number anywhere. One of the three stop-payment checklists in that booklet asks for a routing number; the other does not. The rest of this page quotes all three and explains what each one is actually identifying.
What it costs
From Navy Federal’s published Schedule of Fees and Charges, there are four stop-payment rows, and checks and ACH debits are priced identically:
| Item | Amount | Where it is printed |
|---|---|---|
| Stop payment for a single item (including checks and ACH debits) | $20.00 | Checking Fees |
| Stop payment for a range/series of items (including checks and ACH debits) | $25.00 | Checking Fees |
| Stop payment of Home Equity Line check | $20.00 | Equity Loan |
| Stop payment of Home Equity Line checks | $25.00 | Equity Loan |
All four current checking fee sheets — Free Active Duty Checking®, Free EveryDay Checking, Flagship Checking and Free Campus Checking, each stamped NFCU 401A/401C/401D/401E (6-25) — carry the identical line: “Stop-payment fee … $20.00. If stopping a series of checks, the fee is $25.00.” No checking product is discounted or exempted.
Note the small mismatch, because it tells you something about how the fee is built. The account fee sheets say “series of checks.” The fee schedule says “range/series of items (including checks and ACH debits).” And NFCU 606 itself says only that “a fee will be assessed in the amount shown on Navy Federal’s current Schedule of Fees and Charges for each stop-payment request.” Three official documents, three phrasings of the same charge. We quote all three rather than harmonising them.
Four different things get called a stop payment
Navy Federal has no stop-payment landing page. Its public sitemap lists 1,567 addresses, and only three contain the word “stop” — a press release, an article about mindless spending, and an article about stock order types. The rules live in disclosure documents instead, and each rail has its own:
| What you are stopping | What you must supply | Deadline | Governing Navy Federal text |
|---|---|---|---|
| A check you wrote | account number, exact amount, payee name, check number | before the bank acts on the item | NFCU 606, Membership/Savings/Checking Disclosure |
| An ACH debit from a company | account number, routing number, exact amount, payee name | 3 business days before the scheduled transfer | NFCU 606, Electronic Funds Transfer Agreement |
| A recurring debit card payment | phone or writing; written confirmation within 14 days if you called | 3 business days before the scheduled payment | NFCU 210AB, § 13 |
| A Zelle® or Other Payment Services payment | cancel before processing begins | 3 business days, best effort only | NFCU 452, § 11 |
The routing number shows up in exactly one of those four rows. That is the whole reason this page exists.
Three checklists in one booklet, and only two mention a routing number
NFCU 606 (9-26) prints three separate instruction blocks about what to have ready. Two sit on the same page, seven pages apart from the third. Quoted verbatim:
1. For a check:
“IMPORTANT: To process your stop payment request for a check, you must provide accurate and complete information, including account number, exact transaction amount, payee name, and check number. Navy Federal is not responsible for discrepancies due to incomplete or incorrect information, which may result in a failed stop payment request.”
2. For an ACH debit:
“IMPORTANT: To process your stop payment request for an ACH debit, providing accurate and complete information, including account number, routing number, exact transaction amount, and payee name, assists us in effectively processing your request.”
3. In the Electronic Funds Transfer section:
“IMPORTANT: Providing accurate and complete information, including account number, routing number, exact transaction amount, payee name, and check number, assists us in effectively processing your request.”
Set them side by side and two things fall out that no comparison page mentions.
The routing number is the only field that moves. The check list has four fields and no routing number. The ACH list drops the check number and adds the routing number. The third list is the union of both — five fields, everything, including a check number on an electronic transfer request. Whatever a check number and a routing number are doing in these instructions, Navy Federal treats them as substitutes for each other, not as companions.
The only list written in mandatory language is the one without a routing number. The check list says “you must provide.” Both lists that contain the routing number are written in the gerund and softened: “providing … assists us in effectively processing your request.” Navy Federal will not tell you a stop payment failed because you omitted the routing number; it says an omission may cause the request to fail, and then only on the check list.
Whose routing number is it?
This is the part we are not going to guess at. NFCU 606 says “routing number.” It does not say whose. For a debit that has already posted to your Navy Federal account, two readings exist and the booklet supports neither one over the other: it could be the number carried on the debit entry itself, or the number of your own account’s institution. Navy Federal does not print any nine-digit routing number anywhere in its 20-page Important Disclosures — the word “routing” appears twice, both times in these two lists, and 256074974 appears zero times.
The safe move follows from that silence rather than from a guess: bring every identifier you can see on the transaction. The other three fields — account number, exact amount, payee name — are unambiguous and are the same fields the check list requires. If a representative asks which routing number you mean, that is not a failure on your part; the disclosure genuinely does not specify. Read back the number printed on the entry you are disputing and let them confirm it.
There is one place where the same document family does use a routing number as an address rather than an identity. NFCU 452, the Zelle® and Other Payment Services terms, says that for Other Payment Services “you can provide the recipient’s account and routing number, and other contact information for the recipient.” There the routing number routes money outward. It is not the thing being stopped.
What a stop payment does not do
NFCU 606 is blunt about this, and it is the part people discover too late:
“Navy Federal cannot cancel an agreement that you have with a third party or revoke the authorization that you have provided a third party for recurring automatic transfers from your accounts. To cancel your agreement with a third party and revoke your authorization for recurring automatic transfers, you must contact the third party with whom you have an agreement.”
Three consequences follow, all stated in the same paragraph block:
- Stopping one transfer does not stop the next one. “When you request a stop-payment on a one-time preauthorized transfer, Navy Federal will stop payment on that one transfer and not on any subsequent transfers you may have authorized the third party to make.”
- Stopping a series does not stop a later series. “Navy Federal will stop payment on that series of transfers, not on any subsequent series of recurring transfers you may authorize the third party to make.”
- Anything outside the specific item you named needs a new request. “If you wish to stop payment on any preauthorized transfers other than the specific one (or series) on which you initially stopped payment, you will need to make a new stop-payment request.”
Navy Federal’s Savings FAQ says the same thing in plainer words, and adds the practical half: “The stop payment won’t cancel your obligation with the company, and they may continue to attempt to debit your account. To ensure that future debits will be stopped, we recommend you also contact the company directly.”
There is also a cost-shifting clause worth reading before you place one, printed twice in NFCU 606 — once for checks and once for electronic transfers:
“When we process a stop-payment request, you will hold Navy Federal harmless from all claims and demands resulting from the refusal to honor the check. This means that reimbursement for all damages, costs, and expenses incurred or later assigned because of the refusal to honor the check will be your responsibility.”
In plain terms: if refusing the item causes you a problem with the payee, that problem is yours. A stop payment is not a dispute and it is not a refund.
How long a stop lasts, and who has to prove the loss
NFCU 606 states the deadline to place the order — “We must receive your stop-payment request three (3) business days or more before the transfer is scheduled to be made” — and it defines the calendar: “Our business days are Monday through Friday, excluding federal holidays.” It does not state how long a stop-payment order remains in force. For that, two other bodies of law do the work, and they happen to use the same number for different reasons.
For electronic transfers, federal regulation sets the 14-day rule. 12 CFR 1005.10(c)(2): “The financial institution may require the consumer to give written confirmation of a stop-payment order within 14 days of an oral notification … An oral stop-payment order ceases to be binding after 14 days if the consumer fails to provide the required written confirmation.” NFCU 210AB mirrors it for recurring debit card payments: “If you call, we may also require you to confirm your request in writing within 14 days after you call.”
For checks, Virginia’s version of the Uniform Commercial Code sets it. § 8.4-403(b) of the Code of Virginia: “A stop-payment order is effective for six months, but it lapses after fourteen calendar days if the original order was oral and was not confirmed in writing within that period. A stop-payment order may be renewed for additional six-month periods by a writing given to the bank within a period during which the stop-payment order is effective.”
Two different legal systems — one federal and electronic, one state and paper — both use fourteen days as the point at which an unconfirmed oral order dies. Neither Navy Federal document mentions the six-month term, which is why the statute is worth knowing: the default is longer than most people assume, and it is renewable.
The same statute also answers the question nobody asks until it matters. § 8.4-403(c): “The burden of establishing the fact and amount of loss resulting from the payment of an item contrary to a stop-payment order or order to close an account is on the customer.” If the check is paid anyway, proving what that cost you is your job, not the credit union’s.
One precision matters here. The only governing-law sentence in NFCU 606 is scoped narrowly — it applies to “credit entries subject to Article 4A of the Uniform Commercial Code,” and says those “shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia.” Navy Federal does not state which state’s law governs a check stop-payment order, so this page cites Virginia’s statute as Virginia’s rule, not as a term of your account agreement.
Three documents, three different liability standards
If you place a stop correctly and Navy Federal pays anyway, what happens? Three of its own documents answer differently, and the difference is in the verb:
| Document | Scope | What it says |
|---|---|---|
| NFCU 606 (9-26) | preauthorized electronic transfers | “we may be liable for your losses or damages” |
| NFCU 210AB (4-26) | recurring debit card transactions | “we will be liable for your losses or damages” |
| NFCU 452 (11-25) | Zelle® and Other Payment Services | “we cannot guarantee the stoppage and will have no liability for failing to do so” |
We are reporting all three rather than picking one. They cover different products, and the strongest language (“will be liable”) sits in the debit card disclosure, which is also the narrowest: “We can only honor stop-payment requests for transactions using your DC on pre-authorized recurring transactions or services.” One-off card purchases are not stoppable at all — Navy Federal’s gift card terms put it flatly: “You cannot place a ‘stop payment’ on any Card transaction after it has been completed.”
A stop payment is not a Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit
These two get confused constantly, and Navy Federal’s own form separates them in a parenthetical. NFCU 50 (9-23), the Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit, offers five reasons you can check, and the third one reads: “The authorization for the ACH debit was revoked … (This is not the same as a stop payment.)”
The form exists because of an ACH network requirement, stated on its face: “Automated Clearing House (ACH) rules require a Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit before an unauthorized debit may be returned.”
Its field list is also instructive for anyone tracking where routing numbers do and do not appear. NFCU 50 asks for member name, Navy Federal account number, posting date, dollar amount, and payee/company name. There is no routing number field on the form. The word “routing” does not appear in it at all.
Three more details from the form that matter in practice:
- One payee per form. “Only one payee/company may be listed on the form. Additional payees/companies each require their own form.”
- Ten business days, and a hard edge at 60. “Your claim will be resolved within 10 business days of receipt, or a provisional credit may be applied to your account. Payments past 60 days may not be able to be recovered, but will still be investigated.”
- Bill Pay disputes go somewhere else entirely — Fiserv, at 1-888-560-8031, not through this form.
The rule of thumb: a stop payment is a forward-looking instruction about a payment you expect. A Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit is a signed statement about a payment that already posted. Choosing the wrong one costs you the deadline.
Which stop payment is this?
Pick what you are actually trying to stop. The output shows the fields Navy Federal’s own documents ask for, the fee row that applies, the deadline, and whether the routing number is part of the request.
How to reach Navy Federal, and where the documents disagree
One channel appears in every document: 1-888-842-6328. Beyond that, the sources diverge, and we are not going to reconcile them for you.
- NFCU 606, for recurring automatic payments and one-time preauthorized transfers: “You may only initiate a stop payment … by contacting us via calling or writing.”
- Savings FAQ, for an ACH debit: “you can contact us 24/7 at 1-888-842-6328. You can also send us an online message or visit a nearby branch office.”
- Debit FAQ, for a recurring debit card transaction: “calling 1-888-842-6328, visiting a branch or sending an eMessage through online banking.”
NFCU 606’s general contact block adds the written route — Navy Federal Credit Union, Account Servicing Section, PO Box 3000, Merrifield, VA 22119-3001 — and 1-703-255-8837 for collect international calls. Its advice is to use the phone: “Whenever possible, please contact us by telephone or at Navy Federal Online Banking to report unauthorized transfers or request stop payments. Contacting us by these methods is the quickest way for us to comply with your requests.”
Calling satisfies all three versions at once, so it is the only channel we can recommend without contradicting one of them.
What we could not verify
Stated plainly, because a gap beats a guess:
- Whose routing number the ACH stop-payment list refers to. NFCU 606 says “routing number” without a possessive. Navy Federal does not clarify, and we are not inferring one.
- Whether a stop-payment order on a check expires after six months at Navy Federal. The six-month term comes from § 8.4-403(b) of the Code of Virginia, not from any Navy Federal document. NFCU 606 states no duration at all.
- Which state’s law governs a Navy Federal check stop payment. The only governing-law sentence in NFCU 606 is limited to Article 4A credit entries.
- Whether the $20/$25 fee applies identically to a recurring debit card stop payment. The published schedule prices “single item” and “range/series of items (including checks and ACH debits)”; it does not name card-based recurring payments, and the debit card disclosure states no fee.
- How a stop payment is submitted in the mobile app or online banking. Navy Federal publishes no interface description for this, so this page names no screen, button or menu. The channels above are the ones that appear in writing.
- Whether a fee is charged when a stop-payment request cannot be carried out. No Navy Federal document addresses it.
- Why three Navy Federal documents use three different liability standards. They cover different products, but Navy Federal does not explain the difference in wording, so we report it verbatim rather than choosing.
Where a routing number actually decides something
Every page on this site comes back to the same nine digits because they decide where money lands. A stop payment is the exception that proves the rule: it is one of the few actions you can take on a Navy Federal account where 256074974 is not the answer to anything. It identifies the institution. It does not identify a check, a debit or an authorization — which is why the checklist that can identify a check without it, does.
Related pages
- Routing number not working? — what happens after a payment is returned, and the official return codes.
- What happens if the routing number is wrong — the three tracks, and why the check digit does not save you.
- Outgoing wire transfers — including why a sent wire is not something you stop.
- ACH vs. ABA vs. routing number — three words Navy Federal uses for overlapping things.
- Reverse-look-up a nine-digit number — the two Federal Reserve directories, and what they never tell you.
- Credit cards and routing numbers — the card-versus-account distinction that also decides which stop payment applies.
- What a routing number is — the structure, including the check digit.